Disrupt thyself

aaeaaqaaaaaaaadvaaaajdi3nzhhmdg5lwiwytmtngmxmi05yzq0ltk0ndc3ody1njlkoq-1

I interviewed Whitney Johnson a couple of weeks ago.

Whitney is the leading thinker on driving corporate innovation through personal disruption. She co-founded Rose Park Advisors, a boutique investment firm, with Clayton Christensen. In 2015 Whitney was recognized as one of the world’s most influential management thinkers, and was a finalist for the Top thinkers on Talent at the biennial Thinkers50 ceremony in London.

aaeaaqaaaaaaaah5aaaajdkxmwfjzge4lwe5zgmtndc1nc05nme4lwjjmgm3yzqwzjnhza

So she is well credentialed!I was interested in Whitney’s thinking. She describes a path of competence where, as our competence increases, so does our confidence. But there comes a point, a maturity point, where the increase in competence flattens out.

That’s the point where disruption comes into play.

Because one has to make a decision. Track along in a mature state, but not growing. Or doing something brave, and jumping off the current curve and starting a new one.

It’s easy to talk about, but harder to do.

I’ve done it a few times in my career. In fact, I’ve done it recently.

I don’t see the point in going along on the same curve. I like the thrill of the growth curve. I guess that’s why I see myself as a driver of transformation, innovation, and growth, my personal tag line.

But that’s not for everyone. I get that.

Disruption is everywhere.  And its impacting more and more of us. Perhaps the attitude driven by the competence and maturity curve is something everyone needs to consider.

Food for thought.

Leave a Reply

